Andujar Oliver: Pique committed a penalty that was as clear as it was unnecessary

Barcelona have dropped more points, drawing 2-2 with Osasuna on Saturday, and they did so in part due to a penalty conceded for a Gerard Pique handball.

The defender went towards a cross with his arm raised in an unnatural position and the spot kick was given when the ball hit his arm.

“It was the correct decision from the referee, there’s no doubt,” MARCA’s refereeing expert Andujar Oliver said on Radio MARCA.

“Pique put out his arm and committed a penalty that was as clear as it was unnecessary.”

Pique protested the call and was shown a yellow card, his third of the season after just three matches.