UCL positional awards nominees announced as Real Madrid once again dominate the shortlists

The three-man shortlists for each 2017/18 UEFA Champions League positional award have been revealed as Real Madrid once again dominate the shortlists.

European champions Madrid have six players nominated, as well as Cristiano Ronaldo who has joined Juventus since helping the Merengues to a third straight UEFA Champions League title in Kyiv in May.

There are three nominees per position, with the winners set to be announced during the 2018/19 group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August.

Positional award nominees

Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker (Roma, now Liverpool), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, now PSG), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid)

Defenders: Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, now Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

What are these awards?

These accolades were introduced last year to recognise the season’s best player in each position in Europe’s premier club competition.

This year’s winners will be named – along with the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year and UEFA Women’s Player of the Year – during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August.

Last season’s winners

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Defender: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielder: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Forward: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)